Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  Please visit the Announcements forum and read the updated Forum Rules.
  HomeHelpSearchMember MapLogin ASSRA HomePage  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
.25 rimfire (Read 3220 times)
QuestionableMaynard8130
ASSRA Board Member

Berrien Springs, MI, USA
.25 rimfire
Oct 21st, 2011 at 7:47pm

I'm new to the quarter-bore family of traditional cartridges.  Assuming a standard 25 rimfire rifle barrel with an excellent bore.  what other cartridges could it be rechambered for---assuming the block was reworked for center fire.

sacred cows make the best burger

IP Logged

frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Central Point 97502, Oregon, USA
Re: .25 rimfire
Reply #1 - Oct 21st, 2011 at 7:56pm

It could be rechambered to 25 Hornet (22 WCF necked up) or 25/20ss. That would be my preferred calibers.

Your problem will be the twist, I think the standard twist for 25rf was 17 but, the Lyman 257420 should stabilize in that twist. I can shoot it in my 18 twist Ballard.

Frank

Offical ISSA Member #339
frnkeore frnkeore  
IP Logged

BP
Frequent Elocutionist

Westside, Washington, USA
Reply #2 - Oct 21st, 2011 at 10:49pm

Slug your barrel first. Some of the rimfire bore dia's run a bit smaller than with the centerfires. If your reamer has a removeable pilot, no big deal, but if it's a solid pilot reamer, you may need to have the pilot ground down slightly.

There are three kinds of men: The ones that learn by reading, the few who learn by observation, and the rest who have to pee on the electric fence and find out for themselves.
Proud Noodlehead

IP Logged

waterman
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #3 - Oct 22nd, 2011 at 3:18am

I have a Stevens Model 47 on a 44 action with a 25 cal Stevens barrel with a 17" twist.  It is chambered for 25-20 SS.  It shoots 87 grain bullets very well, even the pointed ones.  I have not yet slugged it.

IP Logged

bisaacson
Full Forum Member

Kailua, Hawaii, USA